Foreigner

I am a foreigner in my own gender simply because I do not portray femininity according to the way society perceives it. Yes I am a foreigner because I prefer boxers over thongs.

I am a foreigner in my own gender because I have strong opinions and because I do not demure to patriarchal concepts. Indeed I am a foreigner because I prefer Doc Martens over Ferragamo Pumps.

I am a foreigner in my own gender because I dare question years of tradition and my role in society. Obliviously I’m a foreigner when I choose to wear jeans instead of a dress.

I am a foreigner in my own gender because I refuse to conform to the mould I had been forced into and because I espouse values such as equality and fairness for all. Of course I am a foreigner when my fellow women reject my version of femininity.
©Immortal Illusion
image

Leave a Reply

