Narcissistic Tendencies (Chapter 2)

I slowly opened my eyes and glanced around the room. Through the smoky haze I could see the effect that the weed was having on others. Then I saw her mouthing some words to her best friend across the room.

“Why is she here?”

“It wasn’t an issue before,” Cheryl mouthed back.

“I made it clear when we discussed it,” she shot back.

I knew they were talking about me. when they turned to glance in my direction, I quickly averted my gaze to the ceiling and pretended to be fascinated by the patterns in the wood. Could I be any more obvious? Meh, whatever….
How long were we going to play this game?

“I have to leave,” I said, suddenly feeling unwelcome.
I didn’t wait for a reply as I made my way out of the room.

“Fuck, those joints were strong,” I thought as I walked into the edge of her door. I heard some muffled snickers but ignored them in favour of my dramatic exit.
“Hey, wait up,” I heard her call out from behind me.

I slowed down my descent on the stairs and we made our way to the foyer in silence. Just as I was about to leave, she blurted out, “We’re so complicated.”

“Tell me about it,” I huffed out.

We locked eyes for a few seconds before I looked away. Such a coward.

“It takes two to tango,” I muttered.

“And only one to mess up the dance,” she finished.

4 thoughts on “Narcissistic Tendencies (Chapter 2)

Leave a comment